“You Will Remain Incomplete Until..”

800_573

“Advertising has us chasing cars and clothes. working jobs we hate, so we can buy shit we don’t need.” 
― Chuck Palahniuk

 

Look around.

No just look.

Look on the internet, on the Television screen, in books, in papers, outside on road.

Look in the mirror.

You know what is common in everything?

Advertisements.

Brands and logos and taglines and fancy typography and jazzy arts.

Look at those fancy audio ads and visual ads on TV or the big billboard outside your house or in the ad box in newspaper.

You know what are they saying?

You know what every advertisement is saying?

They are saying- “You will remain incomplete until..”

Now fill in the blank with the product name.

You’ll remain incomplete until you’ve this phone.

You’ll remain incomplete until you wear this brand.

You’ll remain incomplete until you use this thing.

You’ll remain unhappy until you use this cream.

They even go to the lengths of telling that you are incomplete until you don’t wear a specific brand of inner-wear.

That’s not what I believe. That’s what advertisers would like you to believe.

That you’re incomplete.

So what’s the solution to this?

Obviously, buying the product and feeling complete, feeling adequate.

That’s what we do, right?

We got out and buy the product. And feel ‘complete’ for a while. Then a new products come along and again we’re showed how we’re still incomplete. Then, we want that product. And this cycle never ends. Never.

We let the stuff define us. And advertisers love it.

Only problem- consumption is an unquenchable thirst. Really, we all have been through this. Haven’t we?

We always want more. We keep on creating desires for more stuff. We keep on feeling inferior or superior to other people on the basis of who owns what.

We keep on feeling ‘incomplete’.

These advertisers will always be there. And so will their tricks.

And they’ll always want you to believe that you’re incomplete, that you’re inadequate, that somehow owning their product will fulfil you.

But, can I tell you something?

You’re already complete.

You’re already adequate.

Realize that you’re already perfect.

You don’t need stuff to know your worth. You don’t need brand’s approval to know that you’re a good human.

Your stuff don’t define who you’re. You actions will, your kindness will, how you’re as a person that’ll but not your stuff.

Never your stuff.

Unless you allow your stuff to define you, they can’t and they won’t.

It is you.

It has always been you.

You- the person.

You- the human.

You- the individual.

Let yourself be defined by your actions, by your growth, by your kindness and compassion, by your will to learn.

And, when you do, you feel complete in real sense.

You’re not stuff. You’re not cars and brands. You’re not creams and sunscreens. You’re not mobiles and PSPs.

Stuff doesn’t make you happy. Not long term, for sure.

Never did, never will.

You make you happy.

Go now and be more.

Fly, fucking fly.

*If you liked this post please follow this blog via mail or for your WordPress reader. I would love the inspiration.

* Also bookmark the permalink on StumbleUpon and other sites. I would really appreciate it. Keep commenting. Thank you! Love.

 

10 thoughts on ““You Will Remain Incomplete Until..”

  1. This is just spot on. You’ve got to the real nub of the advertising and endless consumerism: the creation and maintenance of incompleteness – or at least the perception of it.

    • Thank you for such an insightful comment.

      I appreciate it!

      Yes, I guess that’s the basis of what this endless consumerism is based upon.

      Someday, perhaps, we’ll grow out of it. 🙂

      Keep reading and cheers!

  2. My favorite line in this blog is, “Let yourself be defined by your actions, by your growth, by your kindness and compassion, by your will to learn.”
    …I stepped away from my blog for a while, but I saw you commented on my last post. I’m glad a fellow minimalist found it:) Though I wouldn’t call myself a minimalist quite yet…I am taking baby steps in gradually letting go of my stuff. Like you referenced, I don’t want what I own to define who I am. I want to be known by how I love and how I give of my time and money….not by my “stuff”

    • Hey, thank you for such an insightful comment! Means much.

      Minimalism is not something you reach, it is something you be.

      And, you’re that. It is a journey.

      And whether on the first step or few miles ahead, everyone is traveller once you started travelling. 🙂

      So from where, I see. You’re a minimalist!

      Keep reading and cheers!

  3. Hey Hardik,

    I love that quote taken from “Fight Club”. It’s one of my favorite books / films. Thanks for following and commenting on my blog. I hope to achieve more as a minimalist and spread to the community what it is. We live in an age of sheer distractions, blinding us.I want to counteract that by decluttering my life and minimizing by investing on experiences / time. Great blog and God bless.

    ~ Barry

    • Hey Barry!

      Thanks for such an insightful comment.

      I know right? Fight Club is one of the best things that has happened to movie industry!

      True to every word, the distraction part.

      You’re doing a brilliant job. And, your blog is pretty brilliant too!

      Thank you for commenting.

      Keep reading and cheers! 🙂

  4. Very true, Hardik. I was just writing about a related topic and your post popped up. I’m glad at least a few people are recognizing the folly of it all. Once you accept, you can rectify. Hopefully! : )

  5. I constantly struggle with this. I’ll do so good for a month and then I’ll relapse into consumerism with something as simple as a coupon and then it’s hard to get me off the thought process of anxiety filled what do I need next thoughts. Great post! I enjoy your clarity and perspective.

    • Hey, Kelsey. I know right? Happens with me too. One minor disadvantage can break a lot of thought process. But I avoid that with a thinking that at least I am aware of what I am thinking. 🙂

      And so should you!

      Thank you for the comment!

      Keep reading and cheers!

What do you think?

