The Power Of Solitude.

That Indian Minimalist

 

“It is only when we silent the blaring sounds of our daily existence that we can finally hear the whispers of truth that life reveals to us, as it stands knocking on the doorsteps of our hearts.”

– K.T. Jong

I’ll tell you a story.

Around three months ago, I was coming home from college.

My phone was switched off because of low battery.

And, it was hot afternoon and I was tired.

When I rang the bell of my home, no one opened. I waited for few minutes and I realized that no one is at home.

Ah, they must have gone out. I also realized that I don’t have the keys.

Fortunately, there was chair in the balcony.

Since I was exhausted, I settled myself over there.

And, I sat there. But there was no phone to connect with.

No Facebook, no Twitter, no Instagram, no Whatsapp, no calls.

And 5 minutes passed, 10 minutes passed and I started feeling uncomfortable. Really.

We’re not used to this, you know? We’re the hyper-connected generation. We have status to share and read, we have comments to be put up, we have instagram pictures to put and heart, we have jokes to share and we have people to chat with.

And here I was sitting alone on an afternoon with no such tools at disposal.

And I felt a different fear for the first time.

It was fear of being alone. It was fear of confronting your own thoughts and guilt. Fear of really reflecting on your actions, thoughts and life.

And, I realized that I never really do this. I never actually sit down and just spend some time with myself, in solitude. I never go for walks alone and just be with my thoughts.

And, I realized why. Because, it’s scary.

It was always easier for me, the moment I was left alone to take out the mobile and distract myself.

To send Hi to random groups and people, to see photos on Instagram, to take pictures, to share a status, to read facebook updates.

It’s easier. Much easier than just sitting in solitude. To confront your fears, doubts. To confront your life and thoughts. That’ll are tough. And really they are.

This post is not a technological rant of how Social Media is destroying and all that. Maybe it is or maybe it is not. Who am I to tell? I use it as much.

No, the point here is that in this hyper-connected world, we’re ignoring the power of solitude.

To curl up with a book and a good novel, to go alone on walks, to listen to music, to sit in front of sea and beaches and just stare into the horizon.

To really go deep into our thoughts and life. To reflect on our actions. To listen to the lone voice of intuition which gets subsided in the hyper-connectivity and chaos, we prefer.

To really think.

To really reflect, a space to create, a space to think, to unwind, to refuel.

To spend time with your own, to understand your actions and to ponder over thoughts.

And contrary to belief, solitude doesn’t equal lonely. No one is asking you to renunciate everything and become a monk. No one is even asking you to pack your bags and go to Everest.

No, don’t get me wrong. I love spending time with people, I love. Family and friends. And for that even strangers.

But we need to recharge on several occasions. We need to refuel.

And to your surprise, you might just become more positive and more real and understanding in your relations with people.

How will you have a healthy relationship with people if you don’t have it with yourself?

Disconnect with technology for sometime. Shut off your computer and Internet and phone.

Trust me, nothing would happen within the time that would collapse your life.

Just use some amount of time to communicate with yourself, to be alone and in solitude.

Go for a walk. Curl up with a novel. Sit by the beach. Sit by the sea. Meditate. Listen to Music. Contemplate your actions. Think about your learnings. Write. Paint. Sing. Dance.

But be in solitude. It might be scary at first. You’ll feel the urge to pick up your phone and start typing or send hi to the first person in contact list or see photos. Or update a status.

But don’t. Resist it. Stop it. Seriously, how will you hide things from yourself? Or rather for how long?

Confront the fears. Confront the demons. Confront the guilt.

Let it out in your thoughts. Let it vent. Let it get out of the system.

Listen to yourself. Be with yourself. The most inner of your being.

Do it everyday. Even for 5 minutes but do it. Just be with yourself.

You’ll feel more positive, you’ll feel more confident about yourself.

You’ll be able to create more. The deepest of ideas and thoughts will come out.

You’ll feel positive which in-turn would improve your life and your relations with others.

Win-win situation, I would say.

Oh, continuing the story.

I almost sat outside in the balcony for 3 hours, in solitude. And, I confronted a lot of things, lot of fears. And reflected a lot.

It was scary at first. But one of the most worthwhile three hours of my life. And they’ll remain so.

And those 3 hours created one of best things I have ever done, the little blog known as That Indian Minimalist.

Who knows what you might create?

Go now. Take some time out. A cup of coffee and a novel forms a good start, if you ask me.  Also, a walk around in the night.

*If you liked this post please follow this blog via mail or for your WordPress reader. I would love the inspiration.

* Also bookmark the permalink on StumbleUpon and other sites. I would really appreciate it. Keep commenting. Thank you! Love.

28 thoughts on “The Power Of Solitude.

  1. luxuries in life has done us a great disservice, we are like babies wanting and needing to be pacified at a slight hint of discomfort. It’s a shame really. As a child, of a single parent, I used to entertain myself with simple things, a rock, a bottle cap, grass, staring at dirt, or trickling of the rain. Now my kids, are bored surrounded by gadgets and abundance .

  2. Such a great post! I am currently traveling in Carefree, AZ. I woke this morning and immediately went to sit on the balcony…..alone. All I hear are the many different birds chirping and watching a few lizards playing on the rocks below. After about 20 minutes, I did get my Ipad so I could read awhile. Came across your post and had to comment. Thanks for bringing us all back to a little bit of reality…..so we we can enjoy nature and ourselves.

  3. This is great! It’s crazy how we have to be forced to spend time truly alone. I still instinctually reach for my phone as soon as I wake up, not to see what time it is, but to see what others are up to (and, probably, to not be alone).

    I think now more than ever, we’re taught that if something doesn’t feel good, don’t do it, or fill that space with something that does feel good. Fear and guilt feel awful, so we reach for our phones or laptops or whatever other distractions. Thanks for letting me know about your blog – inspiring! 🙂

  4. Pingback: The Power Of Solitude. | Lauren Bedford

  5. Great Post! In solitude I am able to renew my self and it is so empowering. Yet others around me find it difficult to understand when I chose to be alone for sometime and often times I am called selfish by friends.

  6. Pingback: Something For The Weekend #1 |

  7. I completely agree. I used to do this too. As soon as I was uncomfortable or had troubled thoughts coming up, I would do something to distract myself: call a friend, go out, go online. Then I decided to sit and write down what it was that was bothering me. It was really difficult emotionally at first, but then it helped me heal.

    • I know right? It’s a common trouble generally but once you decide to consciously come out of it, it becomes easier and beneficial.

      Thank for the comment! Means a lot.

      Keep reading and Cheers!

  8. Terrific post! I agree with you 100%; more people should have an experience like you describe to bring them the beauty of solitude. Blessings to you and the quiet…

  9. Thank you for your comments on my blog http://www.musingsfromthevan.com.

    What a fantastic post. Real food for thought! You are so right, solitude does not equal loneliness. I love that time to just connect with my own mind, to let it wander. Sometimes my best ideas are born in moments of solitude. You have a great blog, Hardik.

    • Hey, Jamie!

      Thanks for stopping by.

      I am glad, you could connect. And true that the best ideas are often formed at the peak of introspection.

      Keep reading. And you’ve a great blog yourself!

      Cheers. 🙂

  10. “A man can be himself only so long as he is alone; and if he does not love solitude, he will not love freedom; for it is only when he is alone that he is really free.”
    ― Arthur Schopenhauer, Essays and Aphorisms

    You’re right. There is indeed a huge difference in being alone and being lonely. Both can be seen as positive or negative. But these are not synonyms. And there is also different kind of people. Introverts and extraverts. Former ones need some solitude from time to time and the last become nervous of solitude. And you’re right stating that we are a ‘hyper-connected generation’. People are addicted to connection, messages, impulses and action. It’s time to free ourselves. 🙂

    • Hey Elisabeth!

      Thanks for reblogging and such a wonderful comment!

      True that. But I believe everyone ideally needs solitude, it’s important to have a healthy relationship with yourself as well. 🙂

      Glad you liked it!

      Keep reading and cheers!

  11. Hey Hardik

    Great article! Some very good observations here. It actually reminds me of when I had no internet when I moved house for 2 weeks. It was strange just how disconnected I felt at first! Over time, I got used and comfortable without having to access the internet every moment. “Solitude doesn’t equal lonely”. How true! Keep up the great work!

    • Hey, thanks for the insight comment!

      True that. In start, it feels strange since we’re not used to it. But then over the time, it starts feeling good and for good!

      Keep reading and cheers! 🙂

    • I know right?

      It’s important to disconnect from time to time!

      Crucially important, rather.

      Thank you for reading and commenting Sabeeha. Means much!

      Keep reading and cheers! 🙂

  12. I’m so glad you used the word POWER, Hardik. Solitude is very powerful. It can take us to a place where we are able to see the whole picture of our lives, not just the bits and pieces that each experience gives us .I love being alone. I try to have “me” time everyday .So I can meditate and regenerate. Great post!

    • Indeed, it is.

      When I first started with what is now call as ‘me’ time, It was scary because thoughts just rammed my head.

      But I got used to it. And it definitely impacted my life, for better.

      Thanks for reading. Means much!

      Cheers.

  13. I love solitude. Don’t get me wrong, I adore my family, but those peaceful moments when it’s just me in the house… bliss. Just silent bliss!

    • Hey, Rose! I know, right?

      I personally believe that the lone time helps to me improve my relations with people significantly as it leaves me with a clear perspective!

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Cheers!

      • Hello Hardik,

        You’re right! People are not used to lonelyness nowadays strange enough. I can’t understand that. I think: It is nice to be in solitude if you’re know you don’t have to be. If it is a choice it is very relieving. But if you are lonely because you don’t have family or friends, that’s different.

        Nice blog by the way! It’s always inspiring to read about another person’s experience with minimalism. Personally I”m not a total minimalist but intergrating some things in your life I recommend to everybody. Keep up the good work.

        Kind regards,

        Elisabeth

      • Hello Elisabeth,

        First up, thanks for commenting such a wonderful comment.

        Personally, I feel there is a HUGE difference between what we call being alone or in solitude and being lonely.

        People often use these both in synonyms but they are not the same.

        One can be lonely even with the crowd. Or without it.

        Choosing to be alone is a deliberate choice one makes to recharge, refuel and reflect. And, I am talking about being alone and being in solitude.

        Being lonely is never good. And, a person can feel lonely with the full crowd as well!

        Thanks for reading. Keep commenting and cheers!

What do you think?

